Coverart for item
The Resource Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home, Jessica Fechtor, (sound recording)

Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home, Jessica Fechtor, (sound recording)

Label
Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home
Title
Stir
Title remainder
my broken brain and the meals that brought me home
Statement of responsibility
Jessica Fechtor
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Publisher
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"M.F.K. Fisher meets Brain on Fire in this exquisite memoir of a 28-year-old food blogger who cooks her way back to health after a near-fatal aneurysm. Jessica Fechtor was on top of the world: a Harvard graduate student, happily married, and thinking about starting a family. Then, while attending an academic conference, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. Multiple surgeries left her skull startlingly deformed. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and her confidence about who she was and what mattered. Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was strong enough to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she learned about the restorative powers of kneading, salting, and sifting, that food had something to tell her, and that it felt good to listen. For readers of Molly Wizenberg, Tamar Adler, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, as well as Oliver Sacks and Jill Bolte Taylor, Stir is a memoir (with recipes) of what it means to fix what's broken and live with what can't be fixed, to nourish and be nourished, to remember what it is to be hungry, honor that hunger, and learn how to feed it."--Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Fechtor, Jessica
Dewey number
  • 616.1/330092
  • B
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
autobiography
PerformerNote
Read by the author
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Tantor Media
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fechtor, Jessica
  • Intracranial aneurysms
  • Intracranial aneurysms
  • Cooking
Label
Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home, Jessica Fechtor, (sound recording)
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Compact discs
  • Includes over 25 recipes in printable PDF format
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
audio disc
Carrier category code
  • sd
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
4 3/4 inches
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm. diameter
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
5 audio discs (6.5 hours)
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781494519803
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
mass produced
Kind of material
plastic with metal
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • s
Other physical details
digital
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
sound disc
Speed
1.4m. per second (discs)
System control number
  • lbw00802865
  • 818070
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Stir : my broken brain and the meals that brought me home, Jessica Fechtor, (sound recording)
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Compact discs
  • Includes over 25 recipes in printable PDF format
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
audio disc
Carrier category code
  • sd
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
4 3/4 inches
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm. diameter
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
5 audio discs (6.5 hours)
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781494519803
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
mass produced
Kind of material
plastic with metal
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • s
Other physical details
digital
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
sound disc
Speed
1.4m. per second (discs)
System control number
  • lbw00802865
  • 818070
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • St. Catharines Public LibraryBorrow it
      54 Church St., St. Catharines, Ontario, L2R7K2, CA
      43.1603307 -79.2460639
    • Dr. Huq Family Library BranchBorrow it
      425 Carlton St., St. Catharines, Ontario, L2M4W8, CA
      43.180871 -79.225607
Processing Feedback ...