Coverart for item
The Resource Always a bridesmaid (for hire) : stories on growing up, looking for love, and walking down the aisle for complete strangers, Jen Glantz

Always a bridesmaid (for hire) : stories on growing up, looking for love, and walking down the aisle for complete strangers, Jen Glantz

Label
Always a bridesmaid (for hire) : stories on growing up, looking for love, and walking down the aisle for complete strangers
Title
Always a bridesmaid (for hire)
Title remainder
stories on growing up, looking for love, and walking down the aisle for complete strangers
Statement of responsibility
Jen Glantz
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Sloane Crosley, Mindy Kaling, and Katie Heaney, a hilarious and insightful memoir about one New York City Millennial's journey to find herself, her dream career, and true love, all while juggling a truly unique job as the world's only professional bridesmaid. After moving to New York City in her mid-twenties to pursue her dream of writing--and not living on the "Upper East Side" of her parents' house anymore--Jen Glantz looked forward to a future of happy hours and Sunday brunches with her besties. What she got instead were a string of phone calls that began with, "Jen, I have something exciting to tell you!" and ended with, "I'd be honored if you would be my bridesmaid." At first she was delighted, but it wasn't long before she realized two things: all of her assets were tied up in bridesmaid dresses, and she herself was no closer to finding The One. She couldn't do much about the second thing (though her mother would beg to differ), but she could about the first. One (slightly tipsy) night, Jen posted an ad on Craigslist advertising her services as a professional bridesmaid. When she woke up the next morning, it had gone viral. What began as a half-joke suddenly turned into a lifetime of adventure for Jen-and more insight into the meaning of love than she was getting from OKCupid--as she walked down the aisle at stranger after stranger's wedding. Fresh, funny, and surprisingly sweet, Always a Bridesmaid (For Hire) is an entertaining reminder that even if you don't have everything together, you can still be a total boss--or, at the very least, a BFF to another girl in need"--Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Glantz, Jen
Dewey number
  • 305.242/2092
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
CT275.G465
LC item number
A3 2017
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Glantz, Jen
  • Young women
  • Bridesmaids
Target audience
adult
Label
Always a bridesmaid (for hire) : stories on growing up, looking for love, and walking down the aisle for complete strangers, Jen Glantz
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
xi, 301 pages
Immediate source of acquisition
LSC
Isbn
9781501139062
Lccn
2016034746
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (chiefly colour)
System control number
  • 1804542
  • 847878
Label
Always a bridesmaid (for hire) : stories on growing up, looking for love, and walking down the aisle for complete strangers, Jen Glantz
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
xi, 301 pages
Immediate source of acquisition
LSC
Isbn
9781501139062
Lccn
2016034746
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (chiefly colour)
System control number
  • 1804542
  • 847878

Library Locations

    • St. Catharines Public LibraryBorrow it
      54 Church St., St. Catharines, Ontario, L2R7K2, CA
      43.1603307 -79.2460639
Processing Feedback ...